Let’s stop the stigma

I wanted to write a blog post in honour of May being mental health awareness month, a (very) small step towards breaking the stigma around mental health and illnesses. I shared a short version of this on my Instagram already. But let’s pay some more attention to this shall we?

Mental disorders affect 1 in 4 people at least once in their life. Approximately 450 million people suffer from such things every day. Their days are difficult. Getting out of bed is difficult, but it’s not the kind of wanting to stay in bed we experience a lot. Facing new days is hard. Taking care of yourself is hard. It doesn’t feel like being alive, it feels like surviving. 25% of our world population deals with mental issues and only two-thirds of those people seek help. You could call that their problem, that it’s where they’ve gone wrong. But it’s not. It’s the way we’ve dealt with it and the stigma we created ourselves. Physical illnesses or problems are excuses to stay home from school, work and anything that’s your responsibility. Mental illnesses aren’t. People struggling with mental health issues often feel like a failure when it’s our society that has failed to understand. I’m lucky to have some people that do understand and to meet and surround myself with people that are compassionate and positive. But it makes me sad to see how every city, every village and every school still has too many people that run the other way when it comes to mental health. Broken arms and legs get treated, depression and anxiety disorders are ‘just for attention’ when these things should be taken and treated just as seriously.

If you know someone’s struggling, or even if you notice someone isn’t feeling great, try to take a moment to talk to that person and show them you care. Make the difference, let them see there are still people out there that do want to listen. Be nice. You never know what it took someone to get out of bed and show up today. You never know how close someone is to falling off the edge. Kindness doesn’t cost a single thing. Together we can break the stigma.

”Going to therapy needs to become as normalized as going to the gym; if our minds get out of shape, the rest of us will follow.” —  Christopher Charles Wood

If you need someone to talk to or just someone who listens, I will be there and I will listen. I will try to understand which isn’t hard for me because life hasn’t gone easy on me neither. It doesn’t matter if you know me personally, I’m glad to help and my DMs and messages are always open!

5 thoughts on “Let’s stop the stigma

  1. This is very true and I hope I live to see the day where it’s okay to have mental illness
    Recently I did an awareness campaign and I wish all the small things we do changes the society’s perspective

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was diagnosed as Bipolar at 36/37 but Doctors guess it probably started around 12/13. I started drinking at 16 and continued for 20 years. I was court ordered to go to therapy and to see Psychiatrists throughout these years. No one picked up mental illness even though I have a strong family history of it. I would be given buckets of antidepressants that did nothing so I would go back to drinking. I’ve been sober 9 years and diagnosed with Conversion Disorder also. I’ve been on almost every med combo except Lithium, Therapy, and ECT. One day I went into Kidney Failure and since then I’ve been worse. Medications don’t work like they once did and no one has answers why I lost my right kidney or how the medications work now. I’ve suffered most of my life. I had a short glimpse of happiness before it was taken away. I’ve lost friends, family, my own twin sister doesn’t like talking to me or spending time with me. I continue my blog for others who feel like I do and it helps me. They’re small victories but it’s a start.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re a beautiful person, inside out. Blogging for the ones who need it so you can communicate is a daring thing not many people would do, you’re very strong for that. If that’s a small thing that keeps you going then hold on to that and to anything else that keeps you alive & feeling alive

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have to admit I’ve been more shocked by the medical community and their lack of compassion. Not just in the Mental Health field but ALL fields of medicine. I can’t count how many times I’ve had a new Doctor meet me for the first time with my chart in their hands and as they read it I see their face change. Then they start to speak loudly and slow like I do not have the capacity to understand them. One was so rude I sat next to my car and cried. When I almost died from kidney failure the nurses spoke about me like I was invisible. One saying “Maybe I’ll pretend to be Bipolar so I can lose weight too” . I was furious. First because 2 of the medications I was on do cause weight loss BUT so does Kidney Failure and dramatic weight loss was my only symptom which I thought was the medication. I only started to question it when I went from 260 pounds to 129 in 7 and 1/2 months! None of my Doctors questioned it because all they saw was a fat person “doing the right thing”. If it had been caught sooner my right kidney could’ve been saved. Instead I just have the left working at less than 70% now. When I was in the ER they told me I needed to get my family there as soon as possible. My heartrate was incredibly low so was my blood pressure & my feet were gigantic. They asked if I wanted to see a Priest, I couldn’t contact any of my family not even my twin. I was in the same Hospital I watched my mom die in and I was scared. To make things worse I had to listen to rude comments about “crazy” people or how difficult “Bipolar” patients are instead of being shown empathy. Sorry for babbling!

        Like

Leave a Reply

