My trip to Spain

Last year I went on my first real holiday to another country – it was absolutely amazing. I went to Salou, a pretty touristic city located near the beach, just 1 hour and 20 minutes away from Barcelona. Because we loved it so much, we decided to go again this year: the same city, same hotel. But this time we travelled by plane instead of by bus, which basically meant 16 hours less of travelling.

On Saturday, we got up at 3 in the morning to go to the airport, this was also my first time on a plane ever. It’s so much quicker and I love everything you can see out of the window. I didn’t even feel tired anymore once I got dressed and put on my make up. My sister and I were constantly laughing and being weird while other people at the airport were either sleeping or barely awake.

IMG_8035.JPGIMG_8034.JPG

After a 2 hour plane journey we arrived at Barcelona airport. We picked up our bags downstairs and then got on the bus to Salou.

1 hour and 20 minutes later, when we got to the hotel, it felt like coming home. Some people even remembered us and told us welcome back, which made me really happy. The first day felt like it lasted at least 48 hours, probably because we already knew the directions and where everything was located. Spain just feels so much better and a bit different from the Netherlands, for instance: 30°C in Spain feels a lot better than 30°C in my country.

The thing I love about staying in a hotel in a touristic city is that there are always people from loads of different countries, which means various nationalities, languages, cultures and lots of other things. Though everyone’s from different places, nearly everyone speaks English alongside of their own language. I never really had trouble communicating with others.

Surprise! You can watch my first day in Spain here! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sYilvq8-x2k

Processed with VSCO with c3 presetIMG_7975

Last year we grew pretty close with the animation team in the hotel within a week, this year when we came back, only one of them was left: most of them got promoted. I have to say, I loved this year’s animation team just as much, maybe even more, which made it even harder for me (and my sister) to leave at the end of the week.

On Monday we went to Barcelona, we did this last year as well. Our travel company took us on a city trip: we went sightseeing, we went to FC Barcelona and got some amazing views of Barcelona on top of the Montjuïc Mountain. We also got about 2 hours to just wander around ourselves and go shopping, I bought 2 shirts, bought my mum a birthday present and my dad and I got Starbucks. You can find one of my favourite shops there too, Stradivarius, I think they have one in Amsterdam as well but I only go there once every 2/3 years. Barcelona is probably my favourite city ever so far, it’s just so gorgeous and I love Spain in general so that’s a bonus.

Processed with VSCO with c3 preset

The hottest days were the last 3 days. We spent them by the pool and on the beach. I’ve always loved the beach and been jealous of people who live close to it, especially in warmer countries. Compared to last year, the sea seemed pretty quiet, there weren’t as much waves as before.

A few weeks before we went to Spain, I went through the location ‘Salou, Cataluna, Spain’ on Instagram and I saw some photos of pretty amazing places near the beach. Wait, I didn’t see this place last year! So once we had time, we went and searched for it, and we got there. This was most likely one of my favourite moments of the week, since the sight was SO amazing. Sometimes I actually can’t believe these places exist, sometimes it still feels so surreal standing in front of the ocean with nothing to worry about.

I wish I could show you guys this in real life, pictures don’t capture everything you want someone else to see or feel.

IMG_7967IMG_7986IMG_7983IMG_7977IMG_7987

Just imagine standing on these rocks in front of the sea, your skin welcoming a soft breeze of lukewarm air, the temperature being 32°C, feeling the sun doing its work, thinking of nothing but good things. Life definitely isn’t a bad thing.

I hope you all had the loveliest summer break and I also hope you’re ready for whatever’s next; you’ll get through it, you’ll survive. (and I hope you enjoyed the video!)

One thought on “My trip to Spain

Leave a Reply

