15 things I learned while being 15

Because I’m 16 now, I thought it would be nice to look back on the past year and write down 15 things I learned while being 15 as you probably would’ve seen already!

1: Don’t be afraid to say no. Although not everyone sees it this way, no is just a normal answer to a question, as well as yes. Don’t do anything to please others if you’re not feeling good about it yourself, because it’s not going to help you in any way, unless it’s something you’re afraid of (you might not be afraid anymore if you do something you’re scared of). And also: don’t waste your time on people that don’t accept your ‘no’.

2: Some people will leave and some things will go wrong, even if you didn’t expect them to. This is alright because even if you don’t feel like it now, things will get better! Don’t focus too much on big things happening, cherish little things like nice walks or incredible looking sunsets, that’s how you’ll become happiest.

3: Don’t be sorry for your feelings. You can’t control them, therefore they’re not something you can consider as ‘your fault’. Some days you’ll be happy and some days you’ll feel like shit, but you need the bad days to be able to fully appreciate the good days!

4: When you think of a compliment in your head, don’t just let it be in your head. Compliment the other person because it might make their day.

5: Grades don’t measure your intelligence, but they’re super important. School is one of my biggest priorities right now but it used to be the other way ’round in my first 2 years of high school, now I wish I did better then because it would’ve helped me a lot.

6: You’re not (and never) too old to cry, there’s mostly a reason behind it which gives it importance and meaning. I don’t cry that often, but when I do it honestly makes me feel a bit better, like I’ve cried some of the sadness/worries out.

7: Not everyone has the same view on things and certainly not everyone is as mature as you are. This can cause misunderstandings, arguments and annoyance. Difference is a good thing, but sometimes I wish more people would see things/the world the way I do

8: Being positive is one of the most important things ever.

9: Just because someone else has it worse, doesn’t mean your problems/feelings don’t matter or that they’re nonsense. You can’t help what you’re feeling and there’s always going to be someone who has it worse. If you’re struggling with something, then you are, and struggling is never a nice thing.

10: If you have to convince someone to love you, then it’s not worth it. If you have to convince someone to keep loving you, then it’s already too late. You shouldn’t have to beg.

11: Although school is really important, mental health is way more important. Don’t ever forget that.

12: Not everything and everyone is going to be your version of perfect or as you’ve imagined it/them. Flaws make things interesting and I think there’s always going to be something about every person that you won’t like. Accept that not so nice part of someone as you probably have one yourself as well.

13: Do the things you want to do, even if you’re a little scared (it’s a normal thing to be scared!). It’s better to have a life full of ‘I can’t believe I did that’ than ‘I wish I would’ve done that’.

14: Not everything is going to be easy, but that doesn’t mean it’s not worth doing. Usually the difficult things turn out to be the best things.

15: And last but not least: I’ve learned that in my opinion, being honest with your feelings towards other people is important. Being in love isn’t something you should be ashamed of, love should be something beautiful, not something you can embarrass others with. I wish people would just tell each other ‘I miss you’, ‘I’m in love with you’ or even things like ‘I’m interested in you and I think you’re a really nice person’. We usually tell each other or find out when it’s too late or not the right time.

3 thoughts on “15 things I learned while being 15

Leave a Reply

