Coldplay concert

On the 23th of June I finally saw Coldplay live in Amsterdam! I posted photos on Instagram and 2/3 people asked me to write about my day and of course the concert itself, so here you go!

IMG_5801.JPG

I had been waiting for this day for such a long time! But the good thing is is that you get more and more excited every day, right? On the actual day I unfortunately still had to go to school so I left at like 3pm. My dad picked me up and when we got to the train station, the first train we had to catch was the only one that wasn’t delayed during the ENTIRE day. It was quite a hot day as well so traveling wasn’t the greatest thing, but it was definitely worth it! I always love when concerts are in Amsterdam because I just really like that city. It’s always busy but sometimes it’s too busy. Especially when there are like 3 concert halls being used in one night, which means around 100,000 people being there. I guess you can imagine the chaos on the highways and railways with so many people having to get there and return home again at night. Coldplay performed at the Amsterdam Arena, it’s the biggest stadium in the Netherlands (approximately 51,000 people fit in there).

We finally got there around 6:15pm and both my dad and I were really hungry. The queues for restaurants were so long and we wouldn’t be able to get inside the stadium before the support act started if we were going to wait in line. In the end we settled on a cheeseburger you can always get from those small food tents, it was pretty good. After ‘dinner’ we went inside and at 6:45pm Alessia Cara started performing, she’s got an amazing voice and I think she’s beautiful too. Lianne La Havas was good as well but I’m not really a fan of the music she makes. By the time Lianne finished, the stadium was pretty full already which made me even more excited.

IMG_5802.JPG

Before we went into the venue we received a wristband and a button. Everyone had to put the wristband on and these wristbands create multiple flash and colour patterns. Every single person who’s got their wristband on automatically has their own flashlight. They’re radio controlled so this way no one has to worry about holding their phones up and stuff because you’ve got a flashlight already (who doesn’t love multi coloured flashlights?). They flash colours during certain songs which makes the crowd look absolutely beau-ti-ful. You might know what I mean if you went to the Mylo Xyloto tour or if you’ve seen them the 23th or 24th of June like me.

Now one of my favourite parts of a concert must be when the lights go down and everyone starts cheering and screaming. It’s the most intense moment to me because you know the artist could come on stage any second. It’s nerve wrecking but SO exciting!

I was sat in the back so I didn’t have the best view but that’s what big screens are for. They had a long catwalk as an extension of the main stage and they also played 2 songs on a small stage closer to my seat.

The setlist was so good but it would’ve been perfect if they put Ink and Hurts Like Heaven on the setlist as well. My favourites were Amazing Day, Princess of China, Viva La Vida and Fix You. I also really liked the happy songs like Adventure of a Lifetime and Paradise because they used balloons, fireworks and confetti and it all just looked so incredible.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

The last song on the setlist was Up & Up. I love this song a lot but the reason why it isn’t in my favourites is because I only heard the first verse so I don’t really know what it sounded like live. We had to leave during the last song because otherwise it would’ve been incredibly busy at the train station if we left at the very end. Imagine 51,000 people leaving at once, that’s not really gonna work. While waiting for the train to arrive my wristband kept flashing colours, which obviously meant they were still performing ):

My dad and I ended up standing in the train pressed against other people for so long and I was glad when I got home at 1:15am, I don’t think I’ve ever been so tired before. The next day I also woke up with a massive sore throat but it’s all worth it to me when you get to go to awesome concerts.

Sometimes I still refuse to believe my favourite artists are real people until I see them live. During the concert I go ‘WAIT, THEY’RE REAL’ and after the concert I go back to refusing again. It’s just so weird to think they’re real, as they’re so incredibly talented and you only see them through your phone or computer screen. I kind of have a fear of meeting/seeing my favourite artists in real life, like face to face, because what if you don’t recognise them? That would be the biggest disappointment ever!

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Comment down below which concerts you’ve been to so far (and maybe who you’re going to see live soon), I wanna know!

4 thoughts on “Coldplay concert

  1. My first concert was in 2009, justin bieber 😂 My 2nd concert was One Direction on june the 24th (2014)! On june 13th in 2015 i saw my boys again! I’ve also been twice to the vamps, 1x 5sos, 1x Ellie Goulding, 1x Fall out boy, 1x tøp (going to see them again in November yay!) and i’ve been to the 3fm awards where i saw Jett Rebel and Lucas hamming! And 2 weeks ago i’ve been to Pinkpop where I saw many bands/singers but my faves were All Time Low, BMTH, John Newman, Kygo and Sir Paul mcartney

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

